A poem after Santi’s funeral

Image

What I know- Written after Santi’s funeral while we were still in the fight

I go to funerals with small caskets

I stare at the front row in the church and pray we never have to sit there

I see sorrow in the eyes of my friends who are grieving the loss of their babies

I cry easily

I am amazed at the poise and strength of the grieving parents

My husband’s hand gives me strength, as we both wipe our eyes

Snow covered grave sites makes the sadness more intense somehow

Listening to mass in Spanish still evokes emotion, even without translation

LOVE is all we have…. Sanit’s dad said that

I will always try to contribute to an answer

I do my best

I am blessed to have so many friends and family on this journey

2 thoughts on “A poem after Santi’s funeral

Leave a comment